Getting real; staying clear

A Gentle Reminder

Hurricane Sandy approaches and the world is paying attention. I’ve always pondered the collective power of paying attention, and wished we could harness it for purely good at times. But, alas, most of the Media makes money spreading doom and gloom, even though puppies and babies still sell almost anything.

It’s not that I don’t respect nature, or a process that is well beyond the power of my little influence, but I do respect life, and my serenity. I choose to acknowledge, but not engage.

Seems a theme of my week, as I’ve felt the blow of one reactive person after another, trying to get me to make them feel better. I can’t, unless there’s an opening inside them. Believe me, I thought everything “out there” was responsible for the way I felt for years, until I harnessed the power of attention myself, by choosing what to focus on. I love feeling good, and happy too, no matter what is swirling around me.

I just spoke with a woman who called to thank me for sharing my story a week ago. In that conversation she shared some mighty heavy things that were weighing her down, and threatening her sanity and well-being. I told her to do the simple things that worked for me when I inched toward feeling powerless and swept under by such things. She was just beautiful about hearing what I had to offer, and thanked me. No resistance, just an open mind and heart for a chance to look at an impossible situation differently. She was my Angel of the day.

This is what I told her. Be grateful for three new things every day, and write them down. No repeats.

Observe the words she used to describe herself and the situation, and STOP using negative descriptions. Don’t even think about what to replace the negative words with yet; that truly feels heroic.

What I was after was approaching good. By not feeding the negative patterns in my life, they did begin to recede,and I started feeling good. I wasn’t powerless, even in the midst of earth shifting calamity. It still amazes me every time this happens.

As an Attorney, I was often the brunt of jokes for being a Personal Injury Lawyer. “Ambulance Chaser” was the one that made me aware of the perceived exploitation of an injury for profit. I hated to hear that description, but somewhere in me, I must have done some form of that, or it wouldn’t have bugged me so much.

So, I’ve tried to stop monitoring the hurricane today, and decided to focus on what I can do; pray, stay calm, and attend to the abundant good in my life.

Here’s Bob Dylan with Shelter From the Storm

6 responses

  1. Dorrie

    Nice share Maryann
    Being oh so tidy with all my affairs and emotions in response to both inner and outer occurrences
    Has been something I have allowed myself to relinquish..practicing radical compassion first with myself ..then others..it is a practice..and perfection not the goal.
    Depending on my feelings of vulnerability,I try to stay open to everything..finding the calm in being well grounded…again it is a practice
    When I am persuaded (by a disempowered part of me) to shut things out..for me it is an indicator to breathe deeply and reclaim my embodiment..allowing all sights. Feelings..
    Chatter..to just pass through me..hopefully not clinging to any of it.
    Again the goal is not perfection
    The goal is to allow my own
    Illumination to both experience it all..simultaneously providing safe harbor.
    Joy in all our steps

    November 4, 2012 at 2:04 pm

  2. Dorrie

    Regarding ambulance chasers!
    Here in Central Florida navigating after an auto accident can be much the same as threading a needle with a cast on all fingers..nevertheless amongst all the attorneys (right use of ambulance chasers terminology) i have found an attorney whose Light shines into a broken/corrupt system bringing some salvation to a bereft profession.
    You had only look at the reasons why you left the legal profession ..our own spirits embarrass easily as we take on the collective omissions of a group..I experience that myself ..but less now that I have disengaged professionally/personally.
    So good to verbalize and continue kissing our past goodbye

    November 4, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  3. Thank you Dorrie.

    November 4, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    • Dorrie

      God forbid I come across as I have this close to successful navigation without exception
      Believe me,my anger coming from a disempowered part of me has been known to clear rooms, turn fully haired men into bald cowering boys ..
      I have made strides.. Big ones
      But I do slip if provoked enough by unfairness especially

      November 4, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  4. Not at all Dorrie. I appreciate your comments, and am happy that you resonate with what I write.

    November 4, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    • Dorrie

      Thank you

      November 6, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

