Getting real; staying clear

Giving Thanks

I’ve had many achievements in my life, complete with ceremony and celebrations; roses and gifts too. The release of this book is not an achievement in that sense, but I’ve been swamped with phone calls, messages and praise about it today. I thank every one of you for that.  But it is to you, dear readers of my blog, that I give a special thanks. Not just from my heart, but from the marrow of my bone. This book came into the world because the women I worked to launch it with met me through reading this blog. I had no idea that the act of giving something away, especially when I was so scared to do it at first, would yield such bounty. But, it has.

 

I tried to get this book published by the traditional publishing industry and made some pretty miraculous strides. I’ve been read by some fine literary agents and editors, but they declined to represent it, or publish it, for their own reasons. It’s a tough business  for any writer, let alone a first time author. I pat myself on the back for not jumping off a cliff in the wake of all the rejection and uncertainty. The hardest thing I faced was the overwhelming world of “how to” guides that try to sell you something, sometimes promising the perfect “pitch” or the right formula for success. It almost did me in. I almost lost my voice, the one that wrote this book. It would have been such a different reality today, had I not stayed true to who I am and how I am in the world.

 

Today, I spent time in the home of my dear friend Ellen for Thanksgiving. It was Daffodil the dog’s birthday too, and I’m sad I forgot to get a picture. Ellen is happier than I’ve ever seen her, as her three sons, her mother and me enjoyed the first holiday that they were all together for, and healthy for too. She bought party hats and “almost silver” $3.oo Champagne flutes; sparkling juice and great food. I brought bubbles. I brought her my love, and my attention, and my joy. I realized tonight, that I’m happy to launch my book in this quiet way, and among the love that celebrates relationships, not achievements.

 

I’m quite tired, as we have worked round the clock to deliver our work. I’m not sure what I’ll do at 3:00 a.m.in the morning now, the time my Australian friends joined me to brainstorm and support our work. Tonight though, I hope I’ll sleep. I’ve never been happier in my life, and pray that this book awakens in those who don’t yet believe in happiness, that it is not just possible, but kind of inevitable.
Sweet dreams. Here’s me and Ellen, four years ago. She’s even cooler now.

 

My Book is available In Amazon Kindle stores now. Here’s the link. I’ll say more about it in the next post. I’m too full to say much else; I’m savoring this experience.

http://www.amazon.com/GOING-NAKED-BEING-SEEN-ebook/dp/B00AAN3716/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353644585&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=going+nakedbeing+seen

http://www.facebook.com/givingbooks

2 responses

  1. JB

    Maryann, I just picked up your book and cannot wait to dig in. I look to Magdalen for intercession! Thanks for liking my post, too. Blessings.

    November 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    • Oh, I am so happy we’ve found each other then. Thank you so much for buying the book. God Bless you, and I hope it speaks to you in a deep and loving way.

      November 24, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

