Getting real; staying clear

Belonging

Magdalene the Holy GrailBelonging. I almost inserted a hyphen, because I feel separated from something that structured my world, and gave me a sense of place. I can “be” and I “long”, but moving to a new city has left me feeling a bit rudderless. It’s a natural transition to feel the pain of unmooring, as I chart a new course. Life in Kansas City Missouri was profound; I did what I went there to do. Heal, become intimate with God, and write my book. I remind myself often that places don’t hold anything but a transitory vibration. It was me that brought those things to Kansas City. How tempting to identify a place with living well, and writing well too. Belonging is something I’m still working on, no matter how many friends I have there, or here, and how deeply connected I felt to the real. This is the essential core of belonging to me, and radical change always brings me back to center; to the within where the movement arises.
“There is a longing that burns at the root of spiritual practice. This is the fire that fuels your journey. The romantic suffering you pretend to have grown out of, that remains coiled like a serpent beneath the veneer of maturity. You have studied the sacred texts. You know that separation from your divine source is an illusion. You subscribe to the philosophy that there is nowhere to go and nothing to attain, because you are already there and you already possess it.

But what about this yearning? What about the way a poem by Rilke or Rumi breaks open your heart and triggers a sorrow that could consume you if you gave in to it? You’re pretty sure this is not a matter of mere psychology. It has little to do with unresolved issues of childhood abandonment, or codependent tendencies to falsely place the source of your wholeness outside yourself. The longing is your recognition of the deepest truth that God is love and that this is all you want. Every lesser desire melts when it comes near that flame.”

–Mirabai Starr, “Longing for the Beloved,” from our Fall issue. Read the full article here ›

http://bit.ly/1czQyv9

“For the mystic, it is the feminine side of love, the longing, the cup waiting to be filled, that takes us back to God.”

— Llewellyn Vaughan-Lee

So, here I am, one year from the release of Going Naked Being Seen, The Power of Being Real. The book has brought such beauty and grace into my life. New friends, a new love, and a new home. The book was, as my friend Carolyn Jourdan said, “the husk of my transformation.” Now, the real becomes embodied, as I live in a deeper way on this earth. The work of this book changed me. I give thanks to all who have purchased it, reviewed it, and told me how much it meant to you.

And, I reminded of why I changed the cover of the book last year. This excerpt is from Wikipedia, The Winged Victory of Samothrace,

“Modern excavations suggest that the Victory occupied a niche in an open-air theater and also suggest it accompanied an altar that was within view of the ship monument of Demetrius I Poliorcetes (337–283 BCE). Rendered in white Parian marble, the figure originally formed part of the Samothrace temple complex dedicated to the Great gods, Megaloi Theoi. It stood on a rostral pedestal of gray marble from Lartos representing the prow of a ship (most likely a trihemiolia), and represents the goddess as she descends from the skies to the triumphant fleet. Before she lost her arms, which have never been recovered, Nike’s right arm is believed to have been raised,[4] cupped round her mouth to deliver the shout of Victory.[5] The work is notable for its convincing rendering of a pose where violent motion and sudden stillness meet, for its graceful balance and for the rendering of the figure’s draped garments, compellingly depicted as if rippling in a strong sea breeze. Similar traits can be seen in the Laocoön group which is a reworked copy of a lost original that was likely close both in time and place of origin to Nike, but while Laocoon, vastly admired by Renaissance and classicist artists, has come to be seen[by whom?] as a more self-conscious and contrived work, Nike of Samothrace is seen as an iconic depiction of triumphant spirit and of the divine momentarily coming face to face with man. It is possible, however, that the power of the work is enhanced by the very fact that the head is missing.”

I belong, no matter where I am. In celebration of this knowing, and the 1 year anniversary of the book, it’s on sale for 7 days, beginning December 1.

Beginning December 1, the price will be .99; December 3, $1.99; December 5, $2.99, and December 7, $3.99. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AAN3716

Here’s David Gray with Transformation http://youtu.be/hIS2RfNi5Ug

3 responses

  1. Dorrie

    Hi dear
    So glad to see your latest blog entry.
    It brought to mind my own lack ..and newly felt be-longing..as I re-lease myself from time and space with local commitments ( at least for a few days!!) and a consuming relationship with which so many demands were made ( so it felt) that I had lost both the “Be” and the “Longing”.. Which for me (I have discovered this day again)
    One and the Same.
    Love to you.

    November 30, 2013 at 10:49 pm

  2. And love to you. Thank you.

    November 30, 2013 at 11:29 pm

  3. Pam Traver

    Profound & leaves me feeling fuller, peaceful & hopeful! So glad your back…… missed reading your words & inner manifesting out ……. Infinite Gratitude

    December 1, 2013 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

