Getting real; staying clear

Stillness

In honor of the Solstice, and the stillness, I’m reposting this piece.

going naked being seen

All man’s miseries derive from not being able to sit quietly in a room alone. ~Blaise Pascal~~

Stone statute of woman Stillness

Kansas City had two major snow storms in the past week.  The Mayor declared a Emergency each time, and all activity ground to a halt. People stayed home, and things got really quiet outside. Power went out for many people too, and that freaked them out. It made me very grateful that I love the stillness, even without a major snow storm, and that I’ve found a source of power within that sustains me. Even power outages don’t worry me, because I know it will come back on. I live almost by candlelight anyway, and have plenty of warm clothes for such times. The power companies here are efficient with such things too.

I heard people say that they “couldn’t stand another day alone”, and that the hours without power were, “the longest…

View original post 388 more words

One response

  1. wpeace7@triton.net

    Thank YOU for posting this again… I just read it in the silence of the evening, with blue lights over fireplace, fire in the woodburner, candles burning, xmas lights in kitchen, white snow outside & a little tree in backyard facing the creek with blue/white lights on it… so peaceful & still in this beautiful cabin/house among numerous fir trees I planted covered w/ snow… I love it here… enjoying every moment until I leave & move up north… Thank YOU Mary Ann for all your are! I love you xooxo peace, pam xoxoxo

    December 23, 2013 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

