Getting real; staying clear

The Only Way to the Soul is to Feel

Mary Magdalene By MurilloI received Windows to the Soul by Yvonne Banks-Martin from a dear friend of mine a year ago. Last night I found it. Those books always find me at precisely the right time. Call it answered prayer, or divine intervention. It’s full of daily mantras, and this one caught my attention today:

“It’s what you do with what you feel that counts, not what you feel. When you know this truth, you are no longer a victim of your feelings and there is no need to deny or repress anything that comes up.”

There is a universal tendency among those in recovery to deny, repress, or numb our feelings. It’s likely why we turned to drugs or alcohol. We didn’t know that feelings came from the deep within as wisdom, and that they pass. I’ve felt some really intense ones lately, and I can only assume it’s because I didn’t listen to them fully before. Every life experience leaves an energetic imprint, and I know I didn’t feel some things as they happened before. I thought I would die.

We are sentient beings,and feelings speak a language that words really can’t. My dear friend Christi always encouraged me to feel my feelings; to retreat to a safe place and let them have their day, or evening with me. It was real wisdom, because they did pass. I learned that pain didn’t kill me, and fear was really shadow work. Feeling some fears and pain actually liberated me from the idea that something outside of me had the power to imprison me. Mystics know, and teach, that there is nothing outside of ourselves. The whole Universe is within us. We are a soul with a body. When I remember this, I can allow feelings to move through me, because I am more than just a body.

“This too shall pass,” is powerful wisdom. I’ve learned that my perception and reactions to events are what passes. In that way, I retain the power and the poise, to maintain balance, even when events that seem like trials and tribulations come.

Life isn’t always easy. But for those of us on a spiritual path, we encourage each other to pay attention to feelings. The problem is, I was raised in a family that didn’t acknowledge feelings. We spoke of events, and things we observed. The intimacy I value is one that includes the language of feelings. I am blessed beyond measure with beautiful souls in my life; people who see the essence of things, and each other. They’ve helped me enormously in the past months, and I bow to them.

“Let nothing disturb you. Let nothing frighten you. Everything passes away except God.”

― Teresa of Ávila

One response

  1. Pam Traver

    Music heals the body, mind & spirit! It uplifts & gives us hope like your latest sharing of truth and your divine life.

    February 16, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

